It’s Ash Wednesday

22 02 2012

Lent.

A time to start over yet again.

A time to look at those New Year’s resolutions that haven’t gone anywhere.  Not that I remember what they are.  This year, I had a bunch of antibiotics and a sinus infection going on, so resolutions weren’t exactly top of my list.

Most people associate Lent with giving stuff up.  I did that for lots of years.  But I found that I focused on the thing I was giving up, when I really should have been focusing on why I was giving it up.

So this year, I’m focusing on growing spiritually.  I have felt disconnected from God for months, and have really not felt the need to reconnect.  It’s been worse this year, as my son became somewhat of a militant atheist and my daughter decided that she no longer believed.  I feel like a failure for not imparting to them the sense of wonder and peace I have gotten from church and because of God.

But I know that there is a hole in my soul that can only be filled by God, by my knowing that there is a God who has performed miracles in my life, who I feel connected to, who I know loves me.

There is more to this, of course, but I am wanting to get off the computer by 10 pm and it is now that time.  Good night everyone.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

