Putting together a 4 day win

2 06 2012

It’s been a while since I read the 4 day win by Martha Beck but it is a book that has always made a lot of sense to me.  Basically, if you make a goal and commit to doing that thing for 4 days, you’ll pretty much have it entrenched by the end of those 4 days.  But the key is to make it a simple and achievable goal, and to reward yourself with something every day for doing the thing and a bigger reward when you’ve achieved the fourth goal.

It’s of course much clearer when you read her book.

So starting June 1, my two 4 day goals were:

1. go to bed by 11:30 pm

2. Eat 9 servings of fruits and vegetables each day

I did really well for one day, and did not achieve those goals the next day.  So I am going for it again.  I will go to bed tonight by 11:30, and the same on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday nights.  For my daily reward, I will be still and cuddle with my cat for five minutes a day (she’ll totally love this).

I did not achieve my fruits/vegetable goals today, so I will go for it again tomorrow.  (However, today I ate 5 servings of fruits and veggies which is still a win).  I will eat 9 servings of fruits and vegetables a day for the next four days.  For my reward, I will light my favorite candle and sit and watch it and smell it for 5 minutes.

After I have done these things for four days each, I will buy myself a DVD that I have long wanted, and I will buy some herbs to plant outside or inside.

I know I can do these things, just need to nail these down and I will be a person who gets enough sleep at night and who eats fruits and vegetables.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

