Week prep

11 08 2013

Sundays are usually full days, with yard work and food prep and laundry.  Today, we did a little less yard work (didn’t mow the front lawn).  I did a little less food prep and just cut up cantaloupe, watermelon, and strawberries along with slicing green peppers and making 5 salad in a jars.  I made 3 for me and 2 for the hubster.

While I was putting these things together, I also got everything out of the fridge and wiped the shelves down.  I worked for an hour on the two projects and now I have a nice clean fridge and fruits and veggies for the week.

I organized the deep freeze while the hubster mowed the back yard.  I was thrilled….THRILLED…to find several pounds’ worth of steak and hamburger in the deep freeze.  I was able to cross off my entire “meat” list for this next grocery shop.  I need a few more boneless skinless chicken breasts and one or two whole chickens, but now I can wait until these items go on sale.  Which is a huge win.

I also organized some of the shelves in the garage where grocery items are kept.  I was able to cross off several items on the grocery list.  We have plenty of furniture polish and scrubbing bubbles, Ziploc bags, and laundry detergent.

Along with plenty of steak, pork chops, ham, and hamburger.  I think I’ve already saved about 50 bucks from this next trip.

I overspent this payperiod, though, by about thirty bucks.  But I feel I am making much progress in planning ahead, which I haven’t been doing.

I am aware, of course, that implementing is just around the corner.  I will do this.  I will.

It’s not that much fun, honestly, to hold to a budget and diet.  I am planning on adding in a little fun, though.  Hubster and I want to start going out to eat once a payperiod.  This is honestly about double what we go out to eat now.

However, taming the food budget will have high rewards.  Just like working out.  Low risk, high reward.  Then we’ll try to cut the car gas bill by a minimum of 25%.  I am saving for Christmas and the next insurance bill already, but we’ll have to get at least one plane ticket for the kids to come home.  It will be okay, but I’d just love to stay out of the credit card.

I feel energized.  Onward.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

