Weekend warrior workout

25 08 2013

What a difference a week makes.

I got up this morning, ready to go do my miles.  I ate my Cheerios and then yogurt and granola.  I bought some of those Belvita biscuits also, and had one.  I didn’t realize that there were 4 biscuits in the package.

It’s cooler here this week, and that made a huge difference.  I got out an hour earlier and that helped a lot. 

I also did a different route.  That also helped.  There was a bunch more shade on this part of the Greenbelt. 

The first hour was fine.  I did a nice few 17:30 miles.  I started to lag at the 4 mile mark, but was determined to keep up the pace.  So I did day 1 of week 1 of C25K, walking for 5 minutes and then running for 60 seconds/walking for 90.  That got me through a couple of miles.  By this point, though, I was in a stretch of Greenbelt without shade.  I was going to go another mile and turn around, but it was hot enough and noon, so I simply finished the mile and turned around there, and headed back to the shade.  I walked to the shadiest part, and then turned back to where I was and did the mile I’d cut short.  By this time, I was getting pretty tired.  I kept messing up the stopwatch on my phone, so I am not really sure of my splits.

I just listened to my music and tried to make sure my legs were moving.

I didn’t really hit the wall until I left the Greenbelt to go to my car.  I just suddenly got really tired. 

So, just under 4 hours, and 13.3 miles.

Came home, grabbed a shower, ate something, and watched the hubster poop scoop and mow the lawn.  I love watching him work.  Especially when he’s doing my chores. 

I rested for a bit, then started food prep.  I cut up strawberries and a cantaloupe, and washed raspberries.  We got dinner cooked, and I finished the food prep by fixing 7 salads in jars, and cut up carrot sticks and green pepper slices.  Hubster will have a salad tomorrow with leftover steak, and I’m going to have goulash and celery, carrot, and green pepper sticks.  I have my smoothie made for the morning, and my midmorning yogurt and berries. 

I also got the kitchen cleaned up including sweeping, folded three loads of laundry, and vacuumed.  I have my purse cleaned out and my gym bag packed. 

It’s a good weekend.  And ready for the week ahead.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

