September 1

1 09 2013

September is not usually my favorite month.  Oh, I love fall, but September promises fall and usually doesn’t deliver.  Fall doesn’t even start until the end of September, for one thing.

I miss my mom the most in September.  My birthday is this month, and my mom’s.

Usually my theme song for September is Green Day’s “wake me up when September ends”.

This year, though, I have a fun race to look forward to, and to work toward. Today I did 8 miles.  I didn’t really want to go out.  The air is smokey with the latest fires.  But I knew I could not postpone this workout.  It really was do it now time.  So although it was later in the morning than I like to go out, I went out anyway.

I still messed up my stopwatch.  I am not sure how I’m doing that.  I knew my first mile was slow, at 18:18.  Second mile about the same at 18:12.  Third mile slower at 19:07.  Messed up the stopwatch for the fourth mile.  I meandered some, in search of more shade, and did some hill work.  Fifth mile was 18:03.  Sixth mile was messed up stopwatch.  By this time, though, I’d gotten pretty hungry and was glad for the Clif bar in my pouch.  And the Skittles.  I devoured them both and drank a bottle of water.  I filled up at the next fountain.  Water’s not cold, but it is still refreshing.  Seventh mile was very slow at 19:20, but I stepped it up for the last bit and turned in a 16:45.

I’m slow, but my, do I ever perspire.

Today is the start of the September plank challenge and it took all I had to get the 20 seconds done.

I spent a lot of time during the first hour of my workout thinking about why I’m not losing weight.  I’ve been very discouraged in the last month.  I let my good habits lax a bit, and I gained back the six pounds or so that I lost.  So, I have a choice.  I can continue to be discouraged and hope that magically the weight will come off, or I can renew my promise to myself to reinstate those healthy habits.

I will keep in mind, this time, that all the exercise in the world will not take place of poor diet. And I will keep in mind that calories in MUST be less than calories out.  In order to lose a pound a week, which is my goal, I need to expend 500 more calories than I intake.

After my race, I will be working on all areas of fitness, including flexibility and strength.  For now, I am doing what I’ve been doing, just more of it.

So, this week’s plan:

Monday:  bike

Tuesday:  hill work, after work

Wednesday:  elliptical and circuit, after work

Thursday:  walk, before work

Friday:  elliptical after work

Saturday:  rest day

Sunday:  16 miles

Onward.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

