I can’t motivate you.

15 07 2015

I hear this all the time “I should work out with you.  I need motivation.”  “I need you to motivate me.”

I’m sorry that I don’t jump right on scheduling a workout with you.  I can’t do it.

Here’s the thing.  I can’t motivate you.

I.

can’t.

motivate.

you.

Nope.  Can’t do it.

The fact that I don’t want to motivate anyone else is irrelevant.  What is relevant is this:

Motivation has to come from within.  You can’t depend on someone else to motivate you.  You have to do it.

You can read all the motivating things you want.  But it’s you who has to lace up the shoes, put down the fork, log the food.  No one else can do it for you.

What I can do is share my story, my thoughts.  But what motivated me may not motivate you.  You are a different person than me.  You are unique, wonderful, different.

So please, don’t tell me that you need me to motivate you.  It isn’t going to happen.

What did motivate me?  Money.  I signed up for a pilot clinic that was 12 weeks long, and included workouts and all kinds of fabulous teaching.  But I also had to give some money.  I earned it back by tracking my food 80% of the time, attending the exercise class 80% of the time, and attending the class 80% of the time.  It was enough money that I was not going to let it go.

I’ve signed up for an app that does much the same thing.  Look for the PACT app on your app store.  I am not getting any money from PACT to mention them on my blog, but I’ve been using it for a bit and I really like it.

Onward.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

