Sleep Hygiene Challenge

20 09 2015

I am starting this tonight. Tomorrow, 9/21, is the 265th day of the year, so there are 100 days left.
I am going to overcome my insomnia. I am going to practice good sleep hygiene for 100 days.

Here are steps to good sleep hygiene from several websites:
1. Establish a regular bedtime routine. This is one I try to do but have failed at. I am going to get this done.
2. Exercise regularly. Done.
3. Eat healthy. In progress.
4. Don’t eat too close to bedtime.
5. Avoid caffeine and nicotine close to bedtime. I will be watching for this. I don’t use nicotine but I have been known to ingest chocolate and soda later in the day
6. Avoid alcohol before bedtime. Done
7. Practice relaxation techniques before bedtime.

Also:
8. Keep electronics out of the bedroom. This is hard for me. I need to turn off electronics at least a half hour before bedtime, except of course for the hypnosis tapes I will be listening to most nights.

So, here are my goal for the 100 days:
1. Take melatonin dose by 9 pm and other meds
2. Computer and TV off by 10 pm
3. Read or take a bubble bath
4. Lights out by 11 pm
5. Hypnosis tape every night at least 5 nights a week
6. Wear Fit Bit every night
7. Out of bed by 630 am

I am going to have to take some of these in babysteps. This week, I am going to have lights out by 1130 pm, and out of bed by 730 am. I will get electronics off by 10 pm.

I will do this.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

