New Year’s Resolutions 2016

2 01 2016

Well, it’s January 2.

I have not made a bunch of resolutions.

I do want to do a bunch of things.  I just haven’t made them into goals.

I want to get back to food prep Sundays.  Here’s a link for those of you who have the same goal but don’t know how to go about doing it: http://www.theleangreenbean.com/how-to-food-prep/

I want to reduce my grocery budget.  I think I’m going to do this the most old school way:  quit spending so much.  I’ve done the coupon thing and it was awesome but it was a lot of work.  I no longer coupon because I can’t really find coupons for the stuff I buy most. (Meat, fresh produce, etc.)  I do have a couple of things that will help:  a Costco membership and the bulk foods section at Winco.  I also am just going to keep track of my spending.  I have a sticky note posted on the fridge with our current expenditures.  It’s amazing how this simple thing helps so much.  And my fridge, freezer, and pantry are chock full of yummy things.

I want to quit buying/drinking bottled water.  And quit using plastic bags.  I do have lots of reusable bags.  I just need to make it a habit to bring them.  And I need to remember to put them into hubby’s car when we’re going to the store together.

I want to declutter my house.  I have already started this.  Hubster took a huge load of items to the Youth Ranch last week.  Our furnace died one night and we have to move things in order to use our wood stove.  That was the starting point.  Now almost that whole room is decluttered.  We can use our stove any time we need to.  There’s plenty of room for my husband’s bike and stand, so he can work out.   And I have started a savings fund for a futon for this room, and a television that we can stream to (thinking of using something like Daily Burn, for instance).

I want to get more fit. I already do one or two HIIT workouts a week, and two circuit trainings, and one other workout for the most part.  I want to add a yoga practice and continue doing Qi Gong as we have been.  One of the highlights of 2015 was getting the Hubster to join the gym with me.  It really helps me get going on some of those days. Ideally, I want to do two high intensity workouts a week and three medium intensity workouts, and one yoga class.  And then I want to add yoga to every day.  In the mornings.   Right after I get up.

I want to do one race a month, and work from walking to running.

I want to sleep better.  I want to go to bed at a reasonable time (ie before midnight) and I want to get up at 6:30-7 so I can do some yoga, read a little, and get to work by 8-8:30.  Then I can leave at 4:30 and get across town and to the gym with Hubster.

The past couple of weeks I’ve had really good sleep, and I have learned yet again that I do need a bit over 8 hours a night.

I want to practice better sleep hygiene.  I keep saying this, why don’t I do it??

I want to lose 25 more pounds, follow the Mediterranean diet, and eat fruits and veggies every day without thinking about it.

I want to do something to leave my mark on the world.  That’s intentionally broad.

I want to take care of myself.

I think that’s my resolution:  take better care of myself.

All the time.

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

